Explore, connect, thrive in
the expat community

Expat Life: Local Discoveries, Global Connections

CarliNeces

I was just trying to figure out what is the latest law? Is short tern rent for rentals (2-3 months) paid in pesos or dollars as per afip?

Secondly, wanted advise.

I have been staying at the same place for 4-5 years now.love the apartment and the landlord. Just used to the apartment and neighborhood. So don't like to change it.

Last year in April -May 2011, I paid 1300 us$ for it.

This year, for August -October), he is asking me 1700 us$. Do you agree its a big hike .

yes, inflation is there. But the blue dollar exchange rate is sky high. So he is anyway gaining, rite?

How much I should negotiate with him keeping inflation in mind since April 2011.

Thanks

what do you guys think?

Personally if it was me i wouldnt pay any more. In the last few months rental prices have been going down from what i have seen, and if you look on craigslist there is alot listed week after week because there isnt the number of foreigners coming here and renting like there was.
I got a apt in april, 35 sqm studio in palermo - plaza guemes, the landlord want US$700 i got for US$500, including all bills - cable tv/internet/gas/phone/electric.

If you look at what the peso has done in a year or so against the US$.

$4.20 last year.
$6.17 now in blue.

http://www.ambito.com/economia/mercados/dolar.asp

Inflation for a year is say 30% - so from last april until now around 40%, so that 4.20 peso last year is worth around 5.90 now in buying power. So with the blue rate at 6.17, he is doing ok, infact way better than ok, plus he gets your US$ which are as rare as hens teeth here at the moment.

If it was me i would either tell him same terms, or a better rate, no way would i be paying more.